Drowning in Fabric

Forever cleaning, organizing and creating

December ALYOF: Anchors Aweigh

on December 30, 2014

I finished it!

I actually had it done a couple weeks ago, but we’ve been traveling and then without internet for some time, so once again I am squeezing the post (but not the finish!) in last minute.

anchor1

I gave it to my parents at our holiday celebration. Then we all headed to Florida which I thought would be perfect for the pictures. That’s my husband and Brother in law you can see through the quilt.

anchor2

I had some yardage of some of the saltwater prints (unfortunately not the blue ones I wish I had now). In the back I used the coral octopi for the upper portion and the coral seahorses for the lower. I like the contrast of saturation. I separated them with some water related layers from my swap last year.

anchor3

You can see some of them here. Mostly Neptune and a few others. I also used one of the sand bars for the label.

I believe this is my only ALYOF failure in the 12 months – I tried to finish it in the summer and got overwhelmed with the quilting. I do all my own quilting on my Singer and was trying to be very ambitious and this is a very large quilt (96×96) and I gave up. I decided I needed to just get it done and so “copped out” and just did some meandering horizontal wavy lines.

anchor4

This was, of course, hardest in the center of the quilt, but I got into good rhythm elsewhere. I do still fight with starts and stops on my singer. No matter how cautious I am it skips and/or knots at those points. I was very good about keeping things well rolled to help with the bulk. Not the elaborate quilting vision I planned, but it works and it got the job done.

Happy New Year! So looking forward to 2015.

Goal Post

More posts about this quilt


5 responses to “December ALYOF: Anchors Aweigh

  1. I don’t think your quilting those lines was a cop out – they look planned and fit with the theme of the quilt, I think they are great! How cool that you got to take pictures of this quilt at the beach! šŸ™‚

  2. Mara says:

    Congratulations on getting this quilt finished, Love your quilting!

  3. That quilting is not a cop out at all – it works really well with the theme of the quilt! And congratulations! It is finished and looks great – yay! I like the photos of the quilt at the beach, and I really like the backing fabric, even it it is in the coral color way.

  4. Michele says:

    Yeah to you for the finish. I so understand your feelings of how the quilting isn’t what you originally envisioned but it still turned out beautiful and I know that you will love it just the way it is.

  5. […] about her Tessellated Leaves quilt and have a look at some of her other wonderful quilts, likeĀ her Anchors Aweigh […]

Leave a comment