Drowning in Fabric

Forever cleaning, organizing and creating

Fat Quarter Shop Single Wedding Ring Pattern

on February 16, 2015

Hi everyone!

Thank you for visiting my blog today. I was fortunate to be able to try the new Fat Quarter Shop pattern for the Single Wedding Ring. The block is a free pattern. They are also offering a quilt pattern in several sizes.

I have cousins getting married this summer and I thought this would be a great pattern to use for their wedding quilt. It was fortunate timing! I contacted my cousin-to-be and she told me that her home is done in earth tones – mostly golds, corals and greens. I decided to use those colors and add aqua as well. So I chose fabrics in those colors and made a few blocks from the pattern.

This is a fairly quick and straight forward pattern – it is half square triangles and squares.

imageYou create your HST two at a time using the diagonal line method. I did find on my first block that following the given measurements was a close call. Some of my HSTs were a little short. Even so, that block still finished larger than 13 inches somehow. For the second block I bumped my HST squares up just a teeny bit to 3.5 inches and that gave me enough to trim a little bit which made for more accurate HSTs and easier trimming of the ears.

imageOther than that one adjustment, the pattern is very clear and fun to make.

image imageYou can view a video tutorial here.

Fat Quarter Shop is also offering a Single Wedding Ring Quilt Kit in White Washed Cottage.

Thank you so much to Fat Quarter Shop for allowing me to share my blocks on their blog hop today. Keep an eye on my blog as I continue to create this beautiful wedding quilt for my cousins by this summer!

Please also visit the other bloggers in the hop today!

Kiera of Simply Vanella
Lydia of Telafante
Greg of Grey Dogwood Studios
Laurel of Drowning in Fabrics
Amber of A Little Bit Biased
Katie of Good Golly Ginger
Jo of Jo’s Country Junction
Kaye of Miss Print
Paula of The Sassy Quilter
3 responses to “Fat Quarter Shop Single Wedding Ring Pattern

  1. It will be fun to see this one come together for your cousins. I do like to start with generous squares to make HSTs; I would always rather have a bit more to trim and know that my trimmed size will be big enough. 🙂

  2. kieravanella says:

    Beautiful! Isn’t it great how easy and fast this block went together?

  3. LINDA says:

    NEAT BLOCK! THANKS!

Leave a Reply

