Drowning in Fabric

Forever cleaning, organizing and creating

Bright Sky quilt top

on November 15, 2014

imageI finished my Bright Sky top a few weeks ago. It was a fun quilt top to make and did go pretty quickly. I am not totally in love with mine, though. I am still not happy with the shade of grey background – but then I’ve never really been a fan of the grey backgrounds anyway. There are several errors in it as well. I can’t remember if I mentioned how I had to fudge the inner star because some of my measurements were off and it came out too big. So, there’s some puckering where it attaches to the next row.  I also had one outer row turn out a bit short and I can’t figure out why. I redid it two times before I just gave up on it. It is hard to tell, but it is obvious to me. 🙂

imageI basted it right away, using Birds and the Bees green swallows for the back, hoping I’d go ahead and finish it up. But I just have no idea what to do as far as quilting. This is becoming a chronic problem. I’m just at a loss and I haven’t had the time to look through inspiration and come up with something. So, it is sitting with the other wips on the balcony rail. My sewing has been pretty scarce this month, though I have puttered a bit on my kaleidoscope.

imageI was lucky enough to win a tshirt for my participation! I love Patchwork Threads shirts, and have a few, but it is special to have one of this quilt. Thank you to Patchwork Threads and Blossom Heart Quilts for that!

Other posts about this quilt.


3 responses to “Bright Sky quilt top

  1. DeborahGun says:

    I love it! The central square design is brilliant 🙂

  2. Jeifner says:

    Well good for you for getting so much done! You could always straight line it, or wavy line it, or wavy rays of sunshine, echo, stars, swirly clouds or wind, loops and stars, a big straight line x then echo quilting, a smaller scale Milky Way or constellation. Too many ideas huh 🙂

  3. […] The 6 month Make Modern subscription + Miss Matatabi $30 gift certificate prize for the most unique centre star goes to Laurelar! […]

Leave a comment