Drowning in Fabric

Forever cleaning, organizing and creating

4×7 Challenge: week 1 FAIL

on February 7, 2015

OK. So I totally failed in my challenge goals this week. So I don’t deserve to be entered for the prize! But still wanted to give my update.

What you need to understand is that last week when I emptied out the guestroom-cum-new-baby’s-room to be painted, all that stuff went into my sewing area, which is the alcove across from that room. So I couldn’t get to anything in my sewing room. It was packed with boxes, etc. I spent a good part of the week finding new places for that stuff (or replacing it in the baby’s room) so that I could get into my sewing room. Then, it was a mess. There was fabric and everything else everywhere from the whirlwind of getting my Tessellated Leaves quilt finished on a tight deadline. So I spent a good bit of time getting the sewing room back to a useable space.

Then when I was finally able to set up my ironing board and access my sewing machine, I opted to make a test block for another pattern test that is coming out this month (so I can’t share that at this time). That’s what I accomplished this week, along with about 100 loads of baby laundry. I did spend some time reading over the curtain pattern but the one part still doesn’t really make sense to me. I think they won’t be sideways, at least, though.

I need to buckle down this week!

5 responses to “4×7 Challenge: week 1 FAIL

  1. You must be happy to have the baby’s room organized, Laurelar! Good luck getting back on track this week – my experience has been that not a whole lot gets done once a new LO arrives! ; )

  2. sparkling74 says:

    I absolutely feel your pain about not being able to get to your machine and then getting distracted when you actually can. While I do have a room dedicated to sewing, it’s also the present wrapping area, the luggage storage area and a lot of random things end up going on my table in that room. So many times, I go to do something specific and an hour later, I’m on a totally different task and the thought of straightening up the room is so frustrating I just leave it for another day!!

  3. Hang in there! I hope you find a good groove this week.

  4. Shauna says:

    I think you accomplished a lot, maybe not sewing, but sometimes you have to deal with life first. I hope you get lots of sewing done this week. šŸ™‚

  5. Anja says:

    You may not have sewn this week, but you did accomplish a lot. Here’s to success for week two.

Leave a Reply

