Drowning in Fabric

Forever cleaning, organizing and creating

Dilemmas

on October 7, 2014

I’m having some issues.

First, my Supernova.

image

I was (trying to) participate in the Supernova Quilt along. This was a partner swap where we each make two of six blocks and send each other the duplicates. I was really excited with the fabric and direction it was going. My partner is in the UK (I am US). I sent her my first two blocks, along with goodies, fabric gifts, etc. I haven’t heard from her at all since June. I have emailed many times. I have asked if she got my package. I have gotten nothing – no email, no blocks. I’ve even tried contacting her through an online group we are in (where we partnered up). Nothing. šŸ˜¦ I don’t know what else to do. I guess give up on her? Finish it myself? šŸ˜¦ I’m disappointed.

 

My other issue is my chevron quilt

Chevron

Chevron

I love this top. I’ve had it shelved for a long time trying to decide on the back. There was a fabric I wanted to use, but it is HTF and expensive. I had tried to buy it from one online shop that claimed they had ten yards in stock. I ordered five, and got less than 1.5 (in two pieces!). šŸ˜¦ That’s all they had. I finally did order some more of it somewhere else. I waited, and waited and waited. And about the time I was going to call the company, it finally arrived. Like this:

Thankfully, somehow the fabric was still inside. (Yes, it arrived opened like that! I haven’t touched it.)Ā  The mail is just getting worse and worse. See how it says 2 day? It took almost 15.

I’ve also been working on some blocks from leftover pieces to add into the back:

image

So, here’s the dilemma. I decided to use this quilt as a thank you to some friends who did me a huge favor. It is sort of a barter of skills. It took them some time to get their project to me, and I’ve sat on this for some time as well (because of the back, and being busy through the summer). Right about the time I was finally buckling down and getting the back started and ordering the fabric, they (shockingly) announced their separation. They’ve only been married two years and seemed like such a great couple. Now I don’t know how to handle this with my debt to them. They both contributed to my part of the trade. Do I still finish the quilt and let them figure it out? Do I make one for each? Do I ask? Forget it? Ideas/ help/wwyd????

5 responses to “Dilemmas

  1. Marcia R says:

    So sorry you’re having these quilting world dilemmas. I personally would shake the dust off my feet and move on. In other words, I’d forget about the UK person and finish the blocks on my own, and I’d keep the second quilt unless one of the pair is an especially dear friend. Good luck!

  2. Amy Verne says:

    First, so sorry about your swap partner. I would make the blocks you have into a big tote bag. Second, I would send each of your friends a gift card and keep the quilt for yourself.

  3. Judy says:

    Sorry to hear about your swap partner, that really stinks šŸ˜¦ I think it is time to give up on the swap, maybe you could find someone that would want to step into her place?

    As for the second, I think Marcia and Amy had good ideas. I think if money was no object, I’d go with the gift card.

  4. Oh man, so sorry to hear about the dilemmas. I like Amy’s suggestion for your friends – gift cards and keep the quilt.

  5. Jeifner says:

    Oh my. I also might just see if someone might want to step in and be an angel for you and make a couple blocks. It doesn’t hurt to ask šŸ™‚
    As for the second I would contact one of them and say, I have your trade nearly done and am now uncertain what I should do with it. How would you like me to handle this, is one of you planning on keeping it or would you like me to divide it into two separate items. (They should have the responsibilty to help you navigate their now changed relationship.)
    I could see splitting the chevrons in half and using a great solid or blender on top and bottom so that the chevrons are still the stars of the show. Then keep the backing for yourself šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

