Drowning in Fabric

Forever cleaning, organizing and creating

August ALYOF Finish

on August 26, 2014

I’ve been out of town most of the month. So, like, nothing has been getting done. I finally managed to settle in and buckle down on my finish for the month. I am working on my Tula Pink Houndstoothy quilt top. I had finished the blocks back in April at Stash Bash then put them aside and not touched them. I thought it would be a good one for vacation since blocks are done and I just need to assemble, and we have a large garage floor here for me to lay it out on. I’m having problems finding large spaces at my house.

I ran into a slight problem. I had made 132 blocks, intending an 11×12 grid. As I was laying it out, I realized I had duplicated a couple of blocks. Ugh. As I am on vacation, I just brought what I needed and no extra fabric. So, I had to make a decision – either table it til I get home or pull a row. I didn’t want to miss my goal and I had a sneaking feeling if I didn’t get this done here, it would sit on a shelf for another several months again. So I opted to do 10×12, 120 blocks.

image

This top was born from many (many many) Tula Pink swaps. I was in something like 15 rounds of a Tula Pink layer swap, as well as a couple of charm swaps and a brick swap. I am in all these charm swaps, then have no idea what to do with them. I find simple square layouts boring. This pattern seemed a more interesting alternative. I had more than 100 different prints from the charm swap (there were a few duplicates) and filled in the rest from the brick swap. So I never even actually touched the hundreds of layers I had accumulated (not to mention my own large yardage collection). There may be many more Tula quilts in my future. I had intended also to represent all lines (up to foxfield) but as my charm assortment ultimately dictated my blocks, I am not actually sure I accomplished it. I’ll need to sit down and check. If I had broken into my layers, I would have been able to do it. I am also not sure how successful the rainbow gradient is. Again, if I had hand selected my prints I would have done a better job of it, but I limited myself to what was in the charm swap and did the best I could with it. I thought it made a better layout than random.

I will use the leftover blocks in the back, and I have several yards of the Prince Charming raindrop saved for the back. I am glad I have finally finished it. Am I the only one who doesn’t love a quilt design as much when I am done as when I started? I was so psyched to do this one and now I am kind of over it. lol. This happens a lot. Of course, I have been working on it for a year. I am quite proud to see that my points and lining up and all that are so much improved. I was very happy with how it turned out technically. And now it gets added to the ever growing pile of tops that need backs. I did bring a couple of those with me to work on. One can hope. đŸ™‚

 

Here is my goal post

Here are other posts about this quilt

5 responses to “August ALYOF Finish

  1. Well, I think the rainbow gradient comes through very nicely. And I like that you are going to be able to use the left over blocks from the front for a pieced backing – perfect! I know what you mean about being over a pattern when you get done with a project. Sometimes I even swear off a certain kind of piecing for a while because of it!

  2. Anita says:

    The rainbow effect is gorgeous!

  3. Vera says:

    It is beautiful! Congrats on meeting your goal!

  4. I love your quilt. Well done.

  5. Michele says:

    I really like the way this came out and it is perfect for using up all those charms. Nicely done.

Leave a Reply

