Drowning in Fabric

Forever cleaning, organizing and creating

Saturday Swap #6

on July 19, 2014

This doesn’t quite count as a swap, as it is a one-way swap, but I am showing them off this week.

image

One of my friends signed up to do a donation for Dress a Girl Around the World. This is a charity that collects pillowcase dresses and distributes them to underprivileged girls around the world.

image

Now, y’all know I don’t really do clothes, but these dresses were so easy I was knocking out two in a sitting. I bought pillowcases at Goodwill and the thrift shop down the street. I used premade bias tape from Walmart. I made my pockets using charms from the scrappy charm swap. I also cut some pillowcases for pockets that I got at Goodwill that turned out to be shams.

image

In all I sent 8 dresses. She plans to do it again in the new year and I will be collecting pillowcases til then!

image image image image image

Your turn! What did you swap this week?

3 responses to “Saturday Swap #6

  1. Mara says:

    The lace on the pockets adds so much.

  2. Michele says:

    That is a great idea. I’m going to start collecting pillowcases too.

  3. LubbyGirl says:

    Love that each dress is different, so even if they all go to the same community, no two girls will look exactly alike. I’ve been thinking seriously lately about doing this sort of thing too. And then I come across your blog just today!!

Leave a Reply

