Drowning in Fabric

Forever cleaning, organizing and creating

Sunday Stash: Does this count?

on July 13, 2014

I’ve been quiet on Sunday the last few weeks. That’s a good thing. I am making a true effort to cut back my spending. Not just on fabric but in other areas as well. My fabric buying was getting out of hand. Not only is that a drain on money, but also on my space. I love love love bringing in new fabric but I am truly overwhelmed when it takes over my floor, cutting table, and ironing board because I don’t have anywhere else to put it. Then that clutters up my ability to work an efficient manner.

Fabric’s been coming in…. but not like it was. And nothing I feel compelled to show off. I am trying so hard to purge and organize my house. I have gotten pretty motivated. But I am still a hoarder at heart and have a hard time parting with things. I will get to my fabric at some point, there are more pressing areas for now, but I hope that it will start to disappear in use in the meantime.

But today I got something I am very excited about.

image

I first was introduced to the Oliso iron at Stash Bash 2013. I seriously fell in love. I had every intention of running out and buying one as soon as I got back, but that was when my year of hell started and I couldn’t indulge.

image

This iron blows my 20 year old Sunbeam out of the water. It gives such amazing heat and steam. The thing lowers itself on its own when you touch it, then raises again when you let go so it doesn’t burn your ironing pad like I might be known to do from time to time.

image

It has a well with a spout for water and even comes with its own little pitcher to fill it with.

image

I haven’t used it yet. My son spent most of the day playing with it as if it were a truck. “vroom vroom”. He is also quite enamored of all the buttons and knobs. I have a feeling he will be learning real soon what I really mean when I say hot.

I got this in an amazing deal on Massdrop. This is a daily deal type site that has a remarkable amount of sewing deals AND free US shipping. They beat the sales at Joann’s by $20. So psyched. I love a deal.

I also got my fancy new Zumba shoes today, but I am guessing you don’t care about that. 🙂 On sale for $30 (not Zumba brand), I hope they work well because I am having a lot of full time foot pain from my Nikes.

zumba

*BTW – no part of this post was sponsored, just my honest gushing love. But if they want to become sponsors I won’t say no! LOL*

 

365d5-molli_sparkles_sunday_stash_button

4 responses to “Sunday Stash: Does this count?

  1. Those irons are really amazing. I have a couple around the house that work, and until they die I just can’t justify buying another one.

  2. Joanna says:

    I love my Oliso iron. I managed to find ONE left at a store when I had a $40 off coupon. Bargain 😀

  3. It sure does count! I’ve been eyeing those irons ever since one of my quilty pals brought one home. I totally understand about curtailing one’s fabric buying. It just gets to the point of silliness sometimes… that said my post for this link-up is just stuffed with impulse purchasing!

  4. Michele says:

    Yeah for you. I’ll probably end up getting one of those some day when my Rowentas bite the dust.

Leave a Reply

