Drowning in Fabric

Forever cleaning, organizing and creating

Sunday Stash: And now for something completely different

on June 22, 2014

OK, First of all, I deserve a freaking medal for resisting this one this week:

image

And they had free shipping on top of that! I almost caved, but by that point most of it had sold out so I decided to just Let It Go!!

So, as I’ve mentioned in my “ignoring my deadlines” Wednesday posts, I needed to buckle down and figure out what I am doing about some of these swap projects I signed up for. I am not sure how much I can say (since it is a secret partner swap) but my schnitzel and boo mini quilt is at the top of the stress list. I thought it was a mid July deadline, but it isn’t. It’s the beginning of the month. So, using my partner’s likes and comments and changing my mind a lot, I finally chose a pattern – Jaybird Quilts Northern Lights. But I needed to get it!

So I packed up the kidlet and headed out to my LQS first thing Monday morning to see if they carry it. I knew they had the large pattern and ruler, so I hoped maybe they would have the minis as well. Well, they didn’t, but they could order it for me. So I had them do that and sweated the wait.

Thursday afternoon I picked them up. The clearance room is getting refilled (they wiped it out a couple months ago) and there are some good things in there, but nothing I was willing to jump on fabric wise. I’m trying to pretend to be good. However,Ā  I did pick up a couple of clearance patterns.

image

Back in the day, before I had the guts to quilt, I used to make doll clothes. I loved the ModKid doll clothes patterns. I really don’t make real people clothes, but I thought the chef set would be darling for the kidlet someday when he is into dress up. And, you know, why not get the skirt? I’ll never make it. I don’t even know if it’ll fit. But there it is. I want to know what she is looking at with such hopeful amusement.

DSC_0422 DSC_0426DSC_0425

(Back in the day sewing)

They also have these fun buttons. I wanted some of them a few months ago, but didn’t get them and they sold out. So I grabbed a few this time. They are different sayings this time around, but I like these too.

image

And, here is the whole point of my post – My new mini patterns and mini ruler and a sneak peek at my mini quilt (in progress) –

image

365d5-molli_sparkles_sunday_stash_button

And don’t forget to look for my mini quilt (and link yours!) in a future

SaturdaySwap

11 responses to “Sunday Stash: And now for something completely different

  1. Mara says:

    I just made a quilt top of the larger version of the Northern lights, it is such a fun pattern. I get the whole stress thing, just take a deep breath, and good job on the FQS resistance šŸ™‚

  2. Vera says:

    yay for the mini ruler. Those mini patterns are really cool.

  3. Mary says:

    Haha I know the feeling on that FQS offer! I too was good but I did look! thanks for linking up

  4. Kacey W. says:

    I can’t imagine sewing such tiny things! Enjoy your mini-making!

  5. Those badges are adorable!

  6. Love the buttons! The mini quilt you are making – is it hard? It looks to tiny for this all thumbs kinda girl. Have fun and try not to stress too much!

    • laurelar says:

      It wasn’t hard at all and lent itself easily to chain piecing, so it really went quickly. The hardest parts were pressing the seams and I got some warping on my bias edges. But the pattern itself is really easy to put together.

    • laurelar says:

      Oh, and I did have to line up the edges of the hexis, but I have been really working on doing that (with my supernova) so this was good practice at that, and I did a good job. Though I did rip out a couple rows that didn’t quite match up and redo them. I guess that is one part with some challenge to it.

Leave a Reply

