Drowning in Fabric

Forever cleaning, organizing and creating

Sunday Stash

on June 1, 2014

Had to do the PO run again this week (book swaps, not fabric, this time). And, of course, that means dropping in on my favorite fabric shop. I honestly wasn’t expecting much because last week they did their big blowout clearance on a lot of their fabric and had dumped everything out together in big piles – cotton, upholstery, tulle, rayon, etc. Lots of damaged and not much cotton were left at $1/yd by the piece (I didn’t share all the stash buying that went down during that sale!). Usually once they do that, they bring out the upholstery rolls and I don’t see my designer cottons for months. I didn’t even bring in the baby’s snack and paci, I was so sure we were walking in and out. They had neatened up and brought out rolls of the upholstery, but still had two tables of quilting cottons, and they were cleaned out and replenished. Back to the “full price” of $3/yd. I actually like them doing it this way, and I hope they keep it up. Having just two tables cuts down both on my time spent digging there and potential money spent. I managed to find some good stuff too and spent about half what I thought I was, looking at the pile in my cart.

image

Lots of good Kate Spain finds this time. (I will forever kick myself for not buying that multiyard of purple Cuzco last year when I found it.)

image

And the Tula. Always Tula. Even some Foxfield!

image

Sarah Jane, Erin Morris, Masha D’yans (I’ve been meaning to get my hands on the bloom), Joel Dewberry, Denyse Schmidt, Beechwood Park and yet more Belle.

image

And the other fun Riley Blake/Michael Miller prints I couldn’t resist. (Needing yellow for my econoblocks.)

So, my son, who is usually quite good when I am shopping (as long as I ply him with food and iphone) happened to get worked up at one point. An older lady with an accent actually scolded me for bringing him! She said something like “This is why we didn’t bring our kids shopping.” (yeah, right!) I was like, “B, I have no where else to put him.” (without the B word 😉 But yay me for sticking up for myself.)  I mean, seriously, he is just 3 years old. What does she think I am gonna do – just leave him home alone? Or, you know, all us middle class housewives have fancy nannies at our beck and call? Please. That’s why I buy my fabric at the discount damaged and end of bolt warehouse. Where people bring their kids. *Sigh* This is my Karma, I am sure, for judging people before I was in this situation. It isn’t easy toting kids around or forcing them to behave. That’s why we don’t go places where it is necessary for him to behave! So I left my full cart there and dragged him out to the car, got his snack, paci and pulled out my iphone, and stayed away from her, and he was an angel the rest of the time.

I am excited to announce that I will be participating this year in Plum and June’s Let’s Get Acquainted New Quilt Blogger’s Blog Hop!

I follow several participants from previous years and we have some great people on the list for this year. June 4th is my hop date so be on the lookout.

Also, as it is a new month, I have my goal post and review and ALYOF goal coming (once I figure out what it is!) and updates on all my swaps’ progress.

 

365d5-molli_sparkles_sunday_stash_button

12 responses to “Sunday Stash

  1. Beautiful fabrics! Great finds and additions to your stash! Am I reading that you got it for $3.00 yard?!

    • laurelar says:

      I do! Every time I am there I just repeat over and over how blessed I am to have such a place. It only increases my sea of fabric exponentially when it is up and running. But here’s the catch: It is by the piece, so it isn’t like they have bolts (at least of the designer remnants). They are remnants, everything from end of bolts, damaged (sometimes with rips, pieces cut, writing on it), incorrect orders, who knows what else. And they dump it all out on these huge tables and you have to DIG for what you want. Luckily for me, most of these old ladies are looking for some strange novelty stuff (and I love me some novelty fabric, but I’ve wondered over what they’re picking), and don’t know anything about designers or collections or what is hot or out of print or whatever. Here’s my original post on it. 🙂 https://drowninginfabric.wordpress.com/2013/08/21/my-favorite-store/

  2. quiltingmod says:

    I’m a lot bit jealous of your great finds! Where does such a place exist? If I were there, I’d come along with you, bringing my one year-old daughter and four year-old son in tow. If that wicked lady turned up, I’d tell her off with you. I might get up the nerve to say, “Oh, I was going to leave them home, except the nanny has a policy against looking after children when they are CONTAGIOUS! That’d scare her off. Perhaps, I’d whisper to my son to do a little coughing and moaning. Yep, good times!

  3. Marcia R says:

    Great finds! I’ve got to go with you sometime!

  4. Oh, I would have used the B-word with an extra capital B! You should start using your kid as a offensive mechanism to scare the other ladies away. “Now, when we go in, I want you to wail your head off so all the other ladies want to go elsewhere and the fabric is aaaallll mine! Bwahaha!” Yes, that’s what I would do. Although, looking at your pictures, you’ve made some heavenly scores!

    • laurelar says:

      I usually have no problem spending money even with the competition. LOL. Like I told someone else, those old ladies don’t know what they are looking at. They pull some weird stuff. I am still of the camp that your child’s behavior reflects on you and I hate being a disruption, but I really need to get over it.

  5. Michelle says:

    Wow! Those are amazing finds!

  6. wendy says:

    $3 a yard makes me cry with jealousy – we pay $18 a yard… Good for you for being so calm with the bitchy lady, I would have told my son to cry loudly and followed her round!

Leave a Reply

