Drowning in Fabric

Forever cleaning, organizing and creating

Wip Wednesday

on May 21, 2014

With my son’s piggy quilt done (post to come) I got to turn my attention to my many WIPs piling up.

First of all, I need to make about 100 quilt backs. That’s probably going to become a big push in the near future. The finished tops are piling up as I move on to the next project and the next project. I need to get some of these finished. One of the more pressing ones is my chevron top which I am giving to a friend as a thank you. I had my eye on some fabric for the back, and purchased it when the shop finally offered a sale. While they said they had 10 yards in stock, I received barely two. Why does this keep happening to me? So, I’ve found the fabric one other place but for a lot of money. I am ruminating on what to do about this. In the meantime, I am playing with the leftover blocks to use in the back as well.

drowninginfabric.wordpress.com

I’ve also been continuing to work more aggressively on my economy blocks. I think I am putting too much thought into this.

drowninginfabric.wordpress.com

My machine keeps munching on the corners of the triangles.

image

Squaring up has to be one of my least favorite things to do, so while I was motivated to do it, I started working on my Tula blocks as well. Those are actually coming in fairly accurate. A little short if anything… hmm….

imageI’ve joined about a million project swaps this month too. I think I am a little stressed.

 

 

3 responses to “Wip Wednesday

  1. Jeifner says:

    I hear ya. I’ve got about a million as well. keeps us on our toes, right? I’m excited to see more of the Tula project as well 🙂

  2. cloudcoucou says:

    Wow, it sounds like you’ve got a lot going on. I like all your projects, those economy blocks are looking great! Take your time, don’t rush just do what you can 🙂

  3. Hmm, I understand what you mean by munching the corners of your triangles. For me, I have to hold the thread in my hand as I start to sew to make sure it doesn’t get sucked into the bobbin area and bunch up. Then, I have also found that for my machine I need to stitch with the lighter weight fabric on top to keep things as even as possible. Even with a walking foot helping out.

Leave a Reply

