Drowning in Fabric

Forever cleaning, organizing and creating

Friday Finish: Citrus Bento

on April 18, 2014

It is done! It only took a year! Well, most of that year it was just sitting on a shelf ignored.

To recap:

I started this quilt last year at stash bash where I was led to believe by the tutorial that it could be completed in an afternoon. Well, I spent 15 STRAIGHT hours that first day at stash bash working on it and it still wasn’t finished. That didn’t include the cutting, which I had done ahead of time. I completed the main part of the top the next morning. I made the borders last May. Then, lacking inspiration for the back I folded it up and put it away.

As Stash Bash 2014 crept closer, I felt the pressure to complete this quilt, as that would mark a year since I started it. I do have one (much) older wip, but really didn’t want this one to languor past the year. Over the course of the year, I had collected fabrics that might work for backing or binding. I also had quite a bit of leftovers. I was still not sure what to do with the back, but finally sat down and busted something out. I immediately basted and worked on quilting.

I again wasn’t sure what to do, and even though I’ve really been trying to FMQ, I felt with all the straight geometric lines I needed to go that route – even if it would probably take longer. I used my walking foot and straight(ish) lines quilted on either side of the seams in the blocks. (Which I don’t have a good picture of) I used variegated Aurifil thread in orange/yellow/white (choosing against the lime green. Wisely, I think.)

DSC_0708

Then in the white borders I quilted several lines which crossed in the corners. In the middle border I quilted Xs. I still struggle with keeping lines straight on large quilts on my machine. No matter how careful I am, I still have drag or shifting.

DSC_0707

I am in love with the binding. I found it at my favorite store last fall and knew immediately it would work great in this quilt. It works so well as the binding, having all three colors in it, making a nice frame and transition from front to back.

image

I also tried something new – I hand sewed the binding on this one. I have never done that before and felt it was something I needed to do. I am aware there is a certain …snobbery… over how bindings are attached. I’ve always liked the speed of machine binding, but believe I need to try something before I knock it. So now I can knock it. LOL. I was not enamored of the hand binding process. The upside was that I could do it while being with my family in the evening (instead of at 2am like I normally do). Other than that, I am not sure what the love affair is. It does not seem nearly as secure to me, for starters – and most important. And it took forever.  I definitely got better and quicker as I went along – my stitches are more even and invisible at the end than the beginning.

Citrus Bento

Citrus Bento

Citrus Bento back

Citrus Bento back

See all my posts about this quilt here

See my goal post here

Finish it up Friday!

Linking also to the FAL

Here is my goal post: https://drowninginfabric.wordpress.com/2014/04/10/finish-along-q2/

 

9 responses to “Friday Finish: Citrus Bento

  1. Just love this quilt! I have never hand sewn a binding. . . I’m thinking I might have the exact same feeling if I tried it 🙂 I have been thinking I ‘should’. . . you might have just talked me out of it LOL

  2. Marcia R says:

    I love how this turned out! I definitely remember the hours you slaved over it last year! And I ALWAYS hand sew my bindings. No snobbery. It just gives me something to do when I’m sitting with my parents in the evenings. Plus my one machine attempt looked terrible.

  3. I really love the colour scheme and the quilt looks awesome, well done!

  4. selina says:

    It’s beautiful, congrats on the finish.

  5. trkingmomoe says:

    I have wips that are decades old. I think you are doing very well with keeping them done up. Your quilt is lovely.

  6. Joanna says:

    I really want to make one of these quilts! (one day.. :)) love the colours you chose! It looks so fresh and really does have a citrus vibe!

  7. wendy says:

    such a lovely quilt, I love the colours! Well done on achieving your goal

  8. lanidg says:

    This is a very pretty quilt, I love the colors!

  9. Katy says:

    Congrats on your finishes :o)

Leave a Reply

