Drowning in Fabric

Forever cleaning, organizing and creating

WIP Wednesday: BOTM

on March 5, 2014

I have been diligently working on my BOTM. At the expense of my spring cleaning? Well, not entirely sewing’s fault. I am still not 100% from the flu. I’ve had a fussy tummy and am very low energy. The dreary weather and dwindling naps haven’t helped my motivation either. Oh well.

I completed the blocks pretty quickly. It goes a lot faster when I am not in class socializing. But, that’s the fun of going to the class. I’ve mentioned before I have no discipline to finish BOTMs if I am not in a class for them. They pile up in my email.

All the blocks

All the blocks

paper piecing

paper piecing

I know paper piecing is all the rage, but I really dislike it. I am sure I said this when I made my pineapple last year, but I find it incredibly wasteful. It wastes paper. It wastes fabric. It wastes thread. It wastes tons of time. And there’s so much getting up and down. Maybe it is different if you are doing many blocks at a time. I don’t know. Someday I will tackle Prism or a Pineapple but the time consumingness of the paper piecing has them low on my list. Look how long it takes me to do the simple ones.

image

I have the sashing between the blocks attached. Then my rotary cutter broke. I hope to finish the row sashing and the first border today.

3 responses to “WIP Wednesday: BOTM

  1. Your blocks look great… I also struggle with paper piecing for many of the same reasons.

  2. cloudcoucou says:

    These are really striking, they look great. I hope you’re feeling better soon 🙂

  3. trkingmomoe says:

    It seems to take a while to catch on to paper piecing and feel good about it. Get well soon. And who wants to clean when you can quilt.

Leave a Reply

