Drowning in Fabric

Forever cleaning, organizing and creating

WIP Wednesday: Pixel quilt

on February 5, 2014

I’ve been diligently working on my pixel quilt. I have 6 blocks done, but as one is just a white square I guess it doesn’t count. I am working my way around the outside first, mostly to use the large white pieces to get them out of my box of cut pieces so I can see and easily get to the smaller ones. I am able to do 2-3 a day as long as I really focus on getting them done. Today… I am having a couch day. LOL. I need to do some cleaning.

image

It has been fun to work on. I took the Craftsy pixel class and followed that course to make this quilt. I enjoy the process of using the spreadsheet and calculating and plotting and everything. It is fun to me to have to think through how to sew the pieces together in the most appropriate way. And, because they are just squares and rectangles, they go together quickly. If I had more time in the day to sew, I could easily have this done in a day or two.

I see you!

I see you!

image

Those are the blocks I have done so far, but they aren’t in proper order or orientation. Just however I threw them on the board to get the picture. My son saw me with the plan printout last night and shouted “Piggy!” and oinking and stuff, so at least the plan is clear enough for him to tell what it is. I hope he will like it. I have no less than four piggies in my line of sight at this very moment. Time to clean.

2 responses to “WIP Wednesday: Pixel quilt

  1. Lesley Smith says:

    This is super cool! I don’t believe I have seen anything like it before. What a neat idea.

  2. wombatquilts says:

    What a great idea. Can not wait to see it all come together.

Leave a Reply

