Drowning in Fabric

Forever cleaning, organizing and creating

WIP Wednesday

on January 8, 2014

I’ve been working on a couple of things. I have basted my stack the deck quilt. After the behemoth quilts I’ve just made, this one seems really tiny. Basting went very quickly. I spent hours basting my aunt’s quilt… of course, I did it crooked the first time.

image

I realized I’ve never officially shown the back.

DSC_0691

I used my leftover blocks in the small squares and in the large rectangle is my inspiration fabric, which didn’t actually get used in the front of the quilt. I believe I will be binding with it as well.

I am hoping since basting went so quickly, it will be quick to quilt as well, but I am nervous. Remember how I had all kinds of issues with tension while quilting my aunt’s quilt? Well, they are ongoing…. I started working on my chevron top and had to pull out and redo a lot of it…

image

I re-threaded everything and put in a new needle and it seems to be running well again (if noisily), but what I’ve been finding is that it runs for a while and then gets messed up again. Also, now the bobbin winder isn’t working properly either. The round part keeps throwing off the thread. I had to hold it in place while it wound. I think I need a trip to the service guy. 😦 But I don’t want to be without my machine! I have to finish my goal!! I may think about a nicer machine next holiday season. 😦 This is a pretty fancy one, but it’s a Singer.

So, here is a peek at my chevron top so far… I have many more fabrics going into it, but I’ve run out of black. I’ve been stranded for a week as my car has also been in the shop (it isn’t going to last too much longer either.) so I need to get out this weekend and go shopping so I can finish this one up. I am still not sure of the color order or anything yet. I’ll play around when I get to that part.

image

 

3 responses to “WIP Wednesday

  1. Have you ever tried spray basting? I was chicken to use it and tried on a small top I was going to free motion quilt myself. It works great. I used 505 spray by ODIF. (Some others have had bad reviews.) It took my daughter to coax me into trying it. Guess the younger generation do know a thing or two! I love the color combo in your stack the deck.

  2. Marcia R says:

    Love both these quilts. Sorry you’re having trouble with your machine. Maybe you should bite the bullet and have it serviced before you attempt quilting again? This is why you need a backup machine! I have a fairly inexpensive Janome I use when my Juki isn’t behaving. Just a thought. Can’t wait to see you at Stash Bash!

  3. Elita @ Busy Needle Quilting says:

    Oh, how nice those colours are! With your machine, have you cleaned the bit under the feed-dogs? And I mean removed the plate & cleared out the dust bunnies that inevitably collect under there. I find that my Bernina runs loud & clunky along with having tension issues when I haven’t cleaned under there. Just a thought. 🙂 But well done on your projects!!

Leave a Reply

