Drowning in Fabric

Forever cleaning, organizing and creating

Lovely year of finishes January goal

on January 3, 2014

I learned of LYOF late into the year last year. This year they are doing it again, and I am going to jump on board, since I generally list my goals monthly anyway. I’ve spent several days going back and forth on what I should select for my January goal, since I have several projects I am anxious to jump into.

My quilting table is still extended, and even though I am kind of quilted-out, I think it may be nice to get another finish out of the way early in the year. So I have settled on finishing up my stack the deck quilt. Currently top and back are both completed, so I need to baste, quilt and bind it.

I was going to take better pictures, but it has been raining. I am going to post the pictures I have and maybe update them when I get a chance. Even though the back is not complete in this picture, it is actually completed now.

Stack the deck front

Stack the deck front

Stack the deck back (is complete - finished photo to come)

Stack the deck back (is complete – finished photo to come)

Better pictures:

DSC_0689 DSC_0691 DSC_0692

6 responses to “Lovely year of finishes January goal

  1. Ashley says:

    I learned of it too late last year, too! I’m excited to join in this year. I LOVE the back of this quilt! So adorable!

  2. phurah says:

    I like the colors in your quilt. Being able to complete a quilt is an awesome feat because it takes time and patience. Congratulations! When are you starting the next one?

  3. Terri says:

    What a great quilt! Did you string quilt or paper piece or??? Purple and green is one of my favorite color combos! Good luck on your January goals!

    • laurelar says:

      Thank you!
      It is a technique called stack the deck. If you click the tag, you can see the other posts I’ve written about how it was made. 🙂 It is the same block with different fabric placements in each block.

  4. Michele says:

    I’m going to try and participate every month too. Good luck to both of us.

Leave a Reply

