Drowning in Fabric

Forever cleaning, organizing and creating

Finished Friday: Remember this one?

on December 20, 2013

I’ve been busy lately. I’ve always known I work best against a deadline. My deadline was to get my aunt’s quilt done in time for our family gift giving. That’s another post. But as long as I had my quilting table extended, and in the times I needed to ponder the other quilt (or just plain needed a break) I worked simultaneously on my son’s twisted I spy quilt.

I had started this quilt in October 2012 and finished the top and back in February 2013. Then I folded it and put it on the shelf and other than a nagging “I should get to that” from time to time, I really didn’t think about it. First, I was just scared of quilting. But I got a few quilts under my belt since then. Then, I was scared of quilting such a large quilt. And I wasn’t sure how I wanted to quilt it. Finally pinterest provided me with some answers. First I found this picture:

Which I decided might work well on his quilt. Then, as I was working on it, I also found this picture which I took from for the border:

The main quilting went pretty quickly. I didn’t have all the problems I have had on previous quilts, though it was hard maneuvering the quilt and covering the area I needed to. I still have jumps and wobbles in the quilting where I had to stop and readjust. The border on the other hand took forever and was a lot of physical effort. My shoulder hurt for days as and after I worked on it. Once I got a rhythm and figured out a good way to do it, it did go quicker, but I had to rotate the whole quilt every couple inches and it was strenuous.

Well, here are some pictures –

My helper

My “helper”

basting

basting

quilting

quilting

border

border

front

front

Quilting from front

Quilting from front

back

back

Quilting from back

Quilting from back

As it turns out, we didn’t have our family holiday when we planned to. Two people were ill so we have pushed it back to New Year. So… all the rushing to finish in time was unnecessary. Oh well. It also means my son hasn’t “gotten” his quilt yet, though he has seen it a million times throughout this whole process. I’ll wrap it and give it to him (along with the million other toys lol) at our get together so everyone else can ooh and ahh. 🙂

2 responses to “Finished Friday: Remember this one?

  1. It turned out great! Nice job! That first pic is Lori Kennedy’s, and I absolutely love her blog for free motion quilting ideas. One of my goals in 2014 is to work through her tutorials. Anyway, I hope your New Year’s holiday party brings everyone together healthy and happy!

  2. Michele says:

    Yeah for you for getting it finished.

Leave a Reply

