Drowning in Fabric

Forever cleaning, organizing and creating

Cleaning

on October 11, 2013

I am attempting to systematically go through each room of our house and declutter and purge, organize, etc. I work very very hard to keep my house below a certain level of clutter. I could so easily find myself on Hoarders if I ever let it go. But I am at a point where I feel like it is just too much stuff. When things are gathered everywhere, and can’t find places to put things, and I have clothes I’ve had for 20 years and 6 sizes, and we can’t park a car in the garage… you know. I need to do this.

I actually started in my bathroom. I didn’t finish, and I am sure that doesn’t thrill other people, so no pictures. 🙂 I did my vanity and under sink area. Still need to finish the drawers and the rest of the bathroom. I went through every bit of makeup and hair thing. I really tried to be brutal. I did have things dating back to highschool (or earlier). I know it is gross or outdated, but it is so against my nature to throw things away, I am really trying to purge though.

Then I headed into my closet. I do not have before pictures – and actually, my closet is oriented in a way where pictures at all are hard to get, but things had gotten to a point where I couldn’t even walk in there. I had just been throwing things into my closet, I had folded laundry, toys, sweaters, shoes, books etc, all over the floor. I took everything out of my closet and sorted and went through it piece by piece. I originally wanted to do it in a week, but it took the better part of the month. I tried so hard to be brutal. I got rid of a lot of shoes, and a decent amount of clothes and bags. Some of my clothes I did just move to the guest room – some of those “I’ll fit into this again” hopefuls and maternity clothes I still had hanging in my closet… you know, three years later, as a just-in-case. I could certainly still stand to get rid of more of all of it, but like I said, I have a hard time parting with things, and even just doing this much was a huge accomplishment.

IMG_1423

The bag pile… before. I might have a bit of a bag problem.

 

This is the best I can do for pictures... after

This is the best I can do for pictures… after

IMG_1473

Here is my closet now. The floor is completely clear, except for the stool, because I am freakishly short. I have tons of shelf space left. All those hangers used to have clothes on them, and there were more that were plastic that didn’t get put back. I used to have triple rows of shoes, and now it is barely one row. Very excited. I just hope it’ll stay this way.

I also finally got shelving for my sewing area. In hindsight, I could/should have gone with the 48″ shelves instead of 36″. Oh well. I may end up moving these above the tv and replacing them, but I could easily put 48″ shelves there too. I’ve only started to throw stuff up there, but it has already helped so much to get the clutter off my cutting table so I can better use it. I’ve also put some of my designer fabric up there to make room in my cubes for other fabrics, some scrap/charm bins, and some unfinished quilts are at the top. I am sure I will rearrange more in the future, but was trying to just get things out of the way for the time being. I went today to look for another small cube unit to mount on the wall for folded fabric, but they were out of it. LOL. I’ll take that as a hint to watch for the sale. Still quite a bit of plans in here too, but it is a start.

IMG_1476

2 responses to “Cleaning

  1. Celebrate all you’ve accomplished! I’m rather the opposite — I always have the urge to get rid of stuff. Even so, you should be really proud, and use that pride to face the fears. You DID THIS! YOU did it. It took more time than you wanted, it was hard, but YOU DID IT! And you can do it more, you can do it again, you can bring the order and peace to your life you deserve. But please don’t be hard on yourself when it backslides. Face it again, remember you know how, and try again. YOU.CAN.DO.IT.

    Big hugs for you, really.

Leave a Reply

