Drowning in Fabric

Forever cleaning, organizing and creating

ABC Polaroid finish

on October 8, 2013

(ETA – I was just informed this is my 75th post)

Confession: I have been sitting on this post for months, not wanting to post it. It is, in small part, another reason for my hiatus this summer. Certainly not the main one, but whenever I sat to post and was faced with making this post, I was not encouraged to continue. I had such high expectations for this quilt. Up to the moment I sat to quilt it, I was certain it was going to be the best one for some time to come.

Basting

Basting

Then I quilted it.

And, as far as I am concerned, ruined the whole thing.

I still sent it, and still got many thank yous and cute pictures from my sister-in-law, but I know in my heart I ruined it. I am not even sure the pictures will be clear enough to show the issues.

I FMQd it. I tried to use a pattern I learned in the class I took in May. It wasn’t a huge quilt- I don’t remember the size but somewhere in the neighborhood of 42×48″- but the blocks were large. I had a lot of trouble navigating the entire block without stopping to readjust. And when I did, my needle would still take many stitches in place, making like a knot in the back.

Can you see the knotting?

Can you see the knotting?

My stitches didn’t meet, were wobbly and uneven, I broke my thread several times, I had to unpick a few mistakes, and at some point kind of just gritted my teeth and busted through it, unhappy as I was.

IMG_1218

Bobbin ran out on second to last block

It came out very wonky. I like wonky, but not so much in the quilting. It looks like a mess ,which is what it is, not like intentional wonkiness.

IMG_1229

Wonky quilting, a look at border quilting and binding

IMG_1230

Some more close ups of the quilting

Some more close ups of the quilting

The back, which I also loved up to this point

The back, which I also loved up to this point

A look at the quilting from the back

A look at the quilting from the back

IMG_1217

Backing and binding are from Mischief, which I got on 50% sale from Fat Quarter Shop, just as I was starting to look. Perfect timing and the perfect backing for an ABC quilt. Second time that has happened.

Here are some finish pictures

Here are some finish pictures

IMG_1228

Close up of blocks o-z

Close up of blocks o-z

close up of blocks a-l

close up of blocks a-l

My nephew

My nephew

Older brother nephew with his tumbler quilt

Older brother nephew with his tumbler quilt

That’s all I have to say about that.

5 responses to “ABC Polaroid finish

  1. Emmely says:

    I can understand that you’re unhappy that it didn’t turn out the way you evisioned, but you shouldn’t be so hard on yourself. FMQ is difficult and takes a lot of practice to get perfect. Look at the good sides of the quilt. Your top looks really great, I love the way you positioned the blocks and all the fabrics that you picked. It is a quilt for children and they’re not going to mind that the quilting is wonky. They’ll look at the ABC pictures and love it.

  2. I have had the same experience – I practice and practice, think “I have the rhythm now!”, turn to the real project – and it all goes to rack and ruin. It makes you think that maybe hand quilting is the way to go!
    But it is very cute, and I don’t think your nephew will critique the stitches!

  3. Sarah says:

    That baby is going to love this quilt faults and all. You are being much too hard on yourself.

  4. There is so much to love about it. I hope you will love it again some day.

  5. mandymunroe says:

    It’s a great quilt, he’ll snuggle up and love it too.

Leave a Reply

