Drowning in Fabric

Forever cleaning, organizing and creating

September review/October goals

on October 1, 2013

What happened to September?!?!

Things are finally looking up for us. We are coming out of the mess of the last 6 months. My husband is adjusting to his new job, and we are adjusting to our new schedules, my son is adjusting to preschool. I am cautiously optimistic.

September goals

  • Work on aunt’s quilt I have started making blocks for it. It requires many fabrics, and I am slowly buying them and cutting/incorporating as I go. This needs to move up to the priority now, though, so I need to make my final fabric decisions and start busting it out.
  • Make a plan for auction quilt (Can probably wait til next month) I have a couple directions I could go on this… I have a top I am working on for a class (post forthcoming) that could potentially be finished and donated, as I am not overly attached to it. We’ll see what I think when I finish it. I also just got back my Ispy layer cake swap, and am kicking around making something with that which would be a more child-friendly quilt idea.
  • Work on Tula quilt (though I am slowing down on this since the swap is running again and I may want some Acacia in it) I have around 100 of 130 blocks done, and currently spread out on my living room floor (post forthcoming). I am stopped on it for now because, as I said, the future Tula swaps are bringing out the old stuff and I may want that in my quilt. I am having a hard time picking and choosing. I feel like my life has been taken over by Tula…. I have gotten tons of it from my favorite fabric store this go around and I’ve been hunting constantly for the older stuff for my swap.
  • Make a plan for teacher gifts (Can probably wait til next month) Yeah, haven’t thought much about this beyond I’ll probably do some sort of bag.
  • Figure out how I will quilt the baby’s quilt and do it already. I started this thing a year ago, now. No
  • Should I find myself with the time: Bloom bloom pow, bento, chevron, prism and anything else I’ve started and not finished. No
  • Pick a room/closet a week and go through and clean/declutter/get rid of/organize, etc. And I mean seriously. OMG! I have been in serious closet cleaning mode! I took everything – absolutely everything! – out of my closet and have systematically gone through, sorted, gotten rid of, and replaced (most of )it. I’ve done my clothes and bags and am working on my shoes. Then I just need to deal with the random crap that was in there. It is looking so good. I still have way too many things, and some clothes just got moved, but it is a huge improvement. I also worked on my bathroom vanity area. I am sad that’s all I’ve gotten done, but it has been a huge undertaking and at least I am doing it.
  • Get serious about weight loss again 😦
  • Figure out what sort of income we are dealing with and get back on a cash budget to replenish savings and pay off repairs. Get my spending (Looking at you Fabric.com (among others)!) under control again. Spending is not under control  for sure – but we are sorting out the rest of it, and have paid off the repairs.
  • Get my little free library up and running! My builders have started building it. I guess I really thought I’d be done by now?! Again, where did September go?!? I am hoping they will be done by the end of this month. They also went through job changes and are very active people so they have to work around their schedule.
  • Read read read! Oh wow. I haven’t read a single thing this month. How awful. I have a stack of books to read before they go in my library, and I’ve tried to start a couple, but I am so tired or can’t get into them.

This will look much the same –

October Goals

 

  • Work on aunt’s quilt – finish top
  • Make a plan for auction quilt
  • Make a plan for teacher gifts (Can probably wait til next month)
  • Figure out how I will quilt the baby’s quilt and do it already. I started this thing a year ago, now.
  • Should I find myself with the time: Bloom bloom pow, bento, chevron, prism and anything else I’ve started and not finished.
  • Pick a room/closet a week and go through and clean/declutter/get rid of/organize, etc. And I mean seriously. – Finish closet, work on garage, dresser.
  • Put up shelves in sewing room, think (financially) about adding cubes
  • blog better
  • Get serious about weight loss again
  • Stick to budget
  • Get my little free library up and running!
  • Read read read!
One response to “September review/October goals

  1. Be patient… When you keep at it, it does add up over time. Be patient… Breathe… And treat yourself tenderly, as you would a good friend.

Leave a Reply

