Drowning in Fabric

Forever cleaning, organizing and creating

My cousin’s birthday

on September 22, 2013

My cousin turned 18 recently and we celebrated tonight with a family dinner. I realized the gift I had intended to give her wasn’t going to make it in time (I will save it for the holidays) so that left me scrambling for an alternative. At first, I ran out and got a gift card (which was what she had asked for) but it just didn’t feel special enough for the occasion. Then I realized, I can sew something! I have been so immersed in quilts (I have upwards of 7 in wip status, off the top of my head) that I kind of forgot that I can whip something else up relatively quickly. I also have a pile of fabric that I am hoarding and not using, and I felt I needed to use some of it for this special occasion. The fabric wouldn’t necessarily be as meaningful to her as to me, but my sacrifice is what makes it special. LOL. I feel I need to use it to justify having it, but not for any old run-of-the-mill project.

So, I pulled my Hello Pilgrim for this. I feel it is a good sophisticated teen fabric. I changed my colorway choice several times before settling on the green. I pulled some tutorials from pinterest. I started with this zippered bow pouch tutorial. However, those instructions left all of the raw seams exposed on the inside, so I did some tweaking so that it was fully and neatly finished and lined. I also adjusted the pattern to make it a bit bigger.

bow pouch

bow pouch

Inner lining

peek at inner lining

I finished it in a day, working here and there when I got the chance. It probably took me a few hours.

I decided it wasn’t quite enough and wanted to add a wallet to it. Again, I spent a lot of time looking at ideas before settling on this tutorial.   I used two more complementary prints for the wallet.

Wallet

Wallet

peek at lining

peek at lining

It included a D ring. That’s my first time doing that, but I liked that feature. Again, fully finished and lined. I made this with a teeny bit of turquoise thread. I spent the entire time scared I was going to run out (especially since I messed up a few times and had to rip), and in the end, it barely showed anyway. Even with the mess ups, I completed it -from cutting to pictures- in about an hour and a half.

I placed the giftcard in the wallet and the wallet in the pouch and packaged it up.

IMG_1434 IMG_1433

In the end, I think she was way more excited by the gift card than the pouches. Oh well. Hope I didn’t waste my precious Hello Pilgrim!! At least I got some good zip pouch experience in. I may need one of those wallets for me. 😀

3 responses to “My cousin’s birthday

  1. Marcia R says:

    Love both, but especially the little wallet! Nice job!

  2. Sarah says:

    They both turned out great and I’m sure she appreciated them.

  3. Ashley says:

    These are adorable. Love these fabrics together and I can’t believe these are your first ones!!!!

Leave a Reply

