Drowning in Fabric

Forever cleaning, organizing and creating

It’s a Sister Thing swap reveal and a bit about my sewing room

on September 9, 2013

I recently participated in a swap through

The idea was to follow a secret pal’s blog and make them some end-of-summer goodies.

I was assigned Heather at

Her posts (like mine, LOL) were sparse over the summer, but I picked up on a few things. She definitely likes flowers – both in fabric and real. She likes blog hops and handmade items with a function.Β  I made her a (rather large, it turned out. Oops.) mug rug in bright, flowery fabrics in a plus sign pattern. I also made some cute chicken pincushions to match. I included some tea and other drink mixes to use with her mug rug. I hope she likes it.

IMG_1349

Making a mug rug also gave the added bonus of some more FMQ practice. You can’t see it too well in the thumbnail, but if you zoom in I did loops along the seams. The back is a purple and blue flower print and I bound with Children at Play stripe which matched perfectly.

 

I also got a package!

IMG_1387

My package came from Utah from Rachell at http://claddaghsquiltsandstars.blogspot.com/

She sent such a nice long letter explaining what she sent and why and who she is. She sent me two nice – sized quilted fabric buckets with outer pockets (modeled by my scissors and rotary cutter LOL) and a zipper pouch, also with outer pockets. She also included the instructions for how to make them! Ha – It’s from a free Craftsy class that I am probably enrolled in but never got around to doing! She certainly picked up on my colors. πŸ™‚

She was inspired by my ongoing need to clean up and organize my sewing area. She felt the baskets could help – and they will! It just so happens I spent the better part of this weekend cleaning up my sewing room. It still has a long way to go, but at least I can move about, cut, fold, iron, etc now without killing myself or feeling overwhelmed. I’ve not had tons of time to devote to sewing lately, but when I did have time, I would walk in there, get frustrated or overwhelmed and give up. So, I finally just had to push through and get it to be a useable space again. I still have a long way to go, but at least I can work in there again. I took some before and after photos which I shudder to share, but…. maybe it will better illustrate how my life has been going lately –

room1

You may have to enlarge to read my captions. This is my cutting/folding area. In the corner is a built in cabinet that is full with things like fleece and minky. Things I really don’t use and should probably get rid of. On top is my tv, some doll models from when I made doll clothes, my snaps, thread, bobbins, a stack of things I started making and never finished, a stack of bee blocks, and random other stacks. The cutting table was just littered with everything. Fabric that needed to be cut or folded or put away or sorted or … The floor was a combination of fabrics I have pulled for projects, fabric needing to be put away, and all the ziplocs, buttons, velcro, rick rack and other stuff my son gets into and redistributes around the room. (I am mess enough on my own. I really don’t need his help!) My long term goals include putting shelving on those exposed walls so that I can get a lot of the bins and things off my cutting and sewing tables so I can better utilize them. That one wall used to be my design wall until I moved my cutting table there. Now I can’t reach it for that use, and half of it is cut off by the table.

room2

This side is where the majority of fabric is stored. On the floor is more mishmash of scrap bins, bins of fabrics that have no where else to go, swap packages (ingoing and outgoing), fabrics I’ve used and not put away, and mess and trash. I want to move the bookshelf into my bedroom and replace it with more cubbies. There’s a bunch of fleece, terry and flannel which, again, needs to be sorted and destashed to make room for my quilting fabrics. The cubbies have mini bolts and then folded smaller yardage in front and on top. The unit also has more folded mostly fat quarters fabric and ribbons. There is also a closet door in there that you can’t see that houses batting, interfacing, poly fill, etc and drawers that I keep my patterns in.

room3

My sewing room shares with the laundry room. So, I generally have clothes in various stages of laundering around the room as well. I sort, de stain, hang, and hold piles throughout the room. I generally fold on my bed, but sometimes in here too. I never iron. LOL. It’s enough that I iron my fabrics. πŸ˜‰ You can see my son’s diapers drying here, as the ongoing never ending rains continue (actually, it’s been really pretty the last couple days). This is also where I moved my design wall for the time being. It isn’t ideal as it covers the thermostat and some switches.

So, here is the state now, after quite a bit of time cleaning and putting away:

IMG_1376 IMG_1377

Still desperate for some attention and storage, but much more useable. I am able to find what I need and use my tables now. I bought a few bins to store some fabrics for swap or certain projects. That helped a lot. A bit better, but still a long way to go and I can’t wait to add the shelves and cubbies. Those cardboard boxes are mini bolts that need shelf space. It is on the list but may be a while. 😦 I keep spending my monies on fabric.

So, I am not kidding when I go on and on about it. πŸ™‚Β  And it seems as soon as I get involved in a project and/or laundry, the mess evolves again. I am certainly going to put the baskets to good use in here!

Thanks again for the swap, Michelle and Rachell!

3 responses to “It’s a Sister Thing swap reveal and a bit about my sewing room

  1. Rachell R says:

    Yay! So glad you like them! I used it as an opportunity to practice my FMQ, too. πŸ™‚

  2. Michele says:

    I’m glad that you enjoyed the swap and have more motivation to get organized so that you are inspired to sew.

Leave a Reply

