Drowning in Fabric

Forever cleaning, organizing and creating

Notions bag, reprise

on April 6, 2013

Remember my ill-fated, yet semi-successful attempt at a notions bag? For better or worse, I made another one.

pieces cut

pieces cut

I am going to Stash Bash this weekend (so excited!) and we are doing a zippered pouch swap. I decided to try another vinyl notions bag for the swap. I figured since I had already made one, it might go better or quicker and there were some annoying kinks I wanted to try to work out.

Quicker, yes. Better, questionable.

IMG_0685 IMG_0686

I started out sewing the pieces together, then got it in my head that I would save a step and go ahead and topstitch everything while I was at it. DON’T DO THIS! I totally forgot about needing to add the lining, and that is caught in the topstitch. So, I had to pull the topstitching out.

IMG_0688

I remembered to unzip it this time to sew the sides together. I did kill a needle on the zipper again.  I sewed through the metal stopper. I went slower and more carefully the rest of the time. I didn’t have any issues with the vinyl this time, and did a better job with my phonebook trick.

IMG_0687

For the most part, it went together pretty straight forward. I took extra care to square up so that things would go together more correctly than mine. I am still having an issue with the bottom though. This one lines up correctly on the bottom, but I had to cut off most of the bottom segment for it to do that.

bottom seams line up.

bottom seams line up.

What the bottom is supposed to look like.

What the bottom is supposed to look like.

What mine looks like.

What mine looks like.

See how it is missing the bottom panel? I made a note on my pattern to either cut the vinyl smaller or the backing and lining longer.

IMG_0690 IMG_0691

I am somewhat happy with it. For some reason, mine seems a lot stiffer. I don’t understand why. I used the same exact interfacing. My sewing is definitely nicer and neater on the new one. The zipper leans a little to the back on it, instead of directly on the top. Also, the end of the zipper is still split a bit even though I tacked it in place on this one. Other than those minor things, I am pretty happy with it. I hope my swap partner will be. I am thinking about making another little pouch (another type) in case we trade more than one, but we will see what time allows. It has been a really difficult week for my family.

 

Linking to…

3 responses to “Notions bag, reprise

  1. I love your celestial fabric! Your bag came out really cute…and it’s a usable item. At least you have given yourself constructive criticism and know where you need to make changes. Good Job!

  2. Love the bag.. I haveonly made a couple but I want a really large one to take quilts for show and tell to guild.. One day I am gonna make that one.

    Thanks for the shout out for the linky party! 🙂

  3. Colette says:

    Cute bag. I made one but gave it away as a gift. I now have requests for some more. Visiting from Pigtales and Quilts.

Leave a Reply

