Drowning in Fabric

Forever cleaning, organizing and creating

Sewing table finally assembled!

on March 24, 2013

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/5222309/?claim=rd3g9u32ann”>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

So, I am trying out bloglovin. My husband is going with feedly, but all the crafty people seem to be using bloglovin, so that is the one I am testing for now. You have to add this to your blog in order to claim it. Anyway, there are things I like and things I don’t. But, considering I didn’t even know what a reader was 3 months ago and that I am not good with change…. for all I know, google had the same features I like about bloglovin and I just didn’t know it.

So, onto good change –

The sewing table is assembled and in place. This was my holiday gift this year from my parents, and my husband has been puttering at it for about a month and finally got it put together.

IMG_0640

I am really excited. I got to sew SITTING DOWN! I have never done that before. The table I was using for my sewing table is about chest high and not something I could sit at, so I have always sewn standing. This table seems so petite in comparison. It has good storage. The tops fold out to create a work surface and the machine can hide inside when I need to tidy up.

IMG_0641

The lift has three positions. All the way down, all the way up, and how I have it in the photo. There is an acrylic insert I need to order which will fit my machine and cover the gap. If I had ordered it back when I meant to, it would be here by now. It takes 6 weeks or so. But I worked on it today like this, and it went fine. I don’t like that the needle is off to the left of where I sit rather than directly in front of me, as I have been using it. Also, it is a totally different perspective sewing from in front rather than above. I guess I will get used to all that. Right now I am using a kitchen chair, but I hope to get a small comfortable office chair to use in the future. Hopefully I will be able to handle sewing for longer periods of time being more comfortable sitting and in a cushy chair.  One thing about having this vantage point of my machine – I realized for the first time today I have a needle down setting! I am so embarrassed I never noticed that before. There are only a handful of times so far that would have been really useful – like when I was making a lot of doll clothes or turn and topstitching things but it would have been nice to use. Now I know!

This is a new orientation for me too. I had my old table (Which was much bigger) perpendicular to the window, so that I could see my tv. However, I usually pause my tv when I am sewing (Can’t hear over the machine) and really watch when cutting and pressing. I tried it today. It didn’t bother me as much as I expected. I may end up moving again, but for now this is how I am sitting. What you can’t see is to the right I have a huge baby gate around my fabric shelves to keep the baby out. It limits my space there and I have hurt myself several time and even fallen over it. I really want to get rid of it. At least turned this way, the gate is only dangerous when I am trying to get to my fabric.

IMG_0642

Please excuse the mess. At least some of it is due to moving and rearranging the furniture. LOL. On the left you can see what I used to use. See how giant it looks compared to the new table? I am not sure I am happy with it there because of how big it looks, but it is growing on me. It does cut off a lot of access to what I use as my design wall, though. I can barely reach it across the table, and I lose all the lower area. (I had to clear it for the photo because the mystery border project was up – that’s what I am working on right now). I am using it as a devoted cutting table now, and even have my accuquilt set up and my postage scale. I love having a whole table for cutting! I used to have to use that table for everything (I only ever used one of the extensions) and it got so cluttered and I would have to just move things around all the time to make space for whatever I was trying to do – sew, press, cut, store, fold… It is a real experience sewing without a stack of fabric piled up right against the back of the machine clogging up my chain sewing. What were we saying about bad habits? 😀 I thought I was going to use the “cutting table” for a pressing table too, but today as I was working I moved the iron and my small press board over to the sewing table extension, and that way I was able to stay seated between sewing and pressing! I only got up when I needed to square. How neat and convenient! And I could even do that at the sewing table if I wanted to, too. I have the ironing board put away for now (it used to live where the new cutting table is now) and hopefully will only need it when I need to iron yardage now.

I am looking forward to many more comfortable – and hopefully more organized – sewing years now.

2 responses to “Sewing table finally assembled!

  1. Cathy says:

    Love your adorable new sewing table. If you don’t mind me asking, where did you get it and how much?

Leave a Reply

