Drowning in Fabric

Forever cleaning, organizing and creating

Thinky Thursday

on March 21, 2013

Who do you like to sew for the most?

Apparently, I like to sew for strangers. I have so many different bees and round robins and swaps and stuff going on… I had to cut myself off. I had two opportunities recently I almost joined and really thought it through and decided against it. I just have some sort of joining complex. The reasons why I enjoy doing these things:

  • I have a deadline. I do well with deadlines. If it is something for me, the deadline is whenever, it never gets done.
  • I feel more responsible to other people. I have to get it done. It is for someone else.
  • I enjoy the challenge of the new design or color scheme or finding things in my stash I might not otherwise have put together.

For example, the mystery border I am working on right now is sooo not anything I would ever have done for myself. Not my colors, design, size, or method. But I have drafted and resized block designs and I really like how it is turning out. I have had to work with very small bits of fabric and methods I am not as familiar with.

It is starting to wear on me, though. I feel like I am always making for others and don’t have the time or energy to get to my long to do list (some of which IS for others – family members). I also am getting anxious having so many projects in unfinished states.

Linking to….

3 responses to “Thinky Thursday

  1. Jennifer says:

    I know what you mean about the anxiety! It all seems like so much fun until one day it is completely overwhelming! And there are so many fun swaps and bees going on out there, it is hard to limit yourself!

  2. Sally says:

    I understand how you feel, in part, anyway 🙂 I like to join swaps, etc., but then it just stresses me out until I’m done and I feel like I never have time to get to the projects for myself or for my family. So, I made a pass on a couple things I really wanted to do, so I can clear my idea plate and then maybe I can join again 🙂

  3. Emily says:

    Great post! 🙂 I love swaps too. I think it’s refreshing sometimes to take some time and “stalk” my own likes – pretend I’m my own swap partner and look through my flickr favorites and my blog – pull some inspiration, draw some sketches and make something just for me! 🙂 I love the challenge – I suppose there’s still the problem of not having a deadline, but it’s a lot of fun!
    Thanks for linking up this week! 🙂

Leave a Reply

