Drowning in Fabric

Forever cleaning, organizing and creating

Wip Wednesday

on March 20, 2013

I feel like nothing is getting accomplished. Between the cleaning, the pretty weather, the shop hopping, the mess in my sewing area…. I feel like I am doing a lot of moving around and not much doing. This weekend I finally buckled down and finished my card trick blocks: (these are bee blocks to be sent out to different people.)

Now I just have one more to finish for my pinwheel group, then these can all go out.

Yesterday, I spent the day cutting and sorting for my fat 8 swap:

We still have one person we are waiting on, then I can package these up and get them back out and take a picture of what was swapped. Then I have the polka-dot swap right on the heels of this one. We are signing up for Lizzy House Jewel print now.

My next most important project is my modern round robin block. I actually have two of them here to do, but one is due at the end of March. I have a plan for what I want to do with it (which is going to take a bit of pattern work on my part) but I have no fabrics to match one of the major colors. I wish I had realized that when I was going to 100 quilt shops last week. I thought I had some things that would work, but they are the wrong color. I can’t be more specific, sorry. 🙂  It’s a mystery! So I am going to go out to my shop this afternoon with the block and see what I can find so I can get to work on that.

Also on my to-do list is to finish my ribbon quilt top. I have picked out a rather ambitious border. I had a little fussy fit trying to figure out the directions in the book. It isn’t difficult, but it is a bit of math, and it doesn’t give actual measurements to cut so I am never sure whether it is finished measurements or actual in their diagrams. I find it very confusing. And I don’t want to waste fabric doing it wrong! I think I have it figured out though, and hopefully will get to that soon.

I have some fabric OTW to try out for my citrus theme. Yellow is impossible to find, and it is stressing me out a bit that I have a disproportionate amount of it. Once I am able to focus on it, we’ll see how it looks. I also had to buy full yards of these fabrics and won’t need anywhere near that much. 😦

My I-spy quilt is still waiting for me to attempt quilting it. I went to order a walking foot I have been considering for a while, and they are sold out now (due back in stock soon). I also want to make some smaller projects first to quilt before I attempt that giant quilt. I also want my sewing table complete for extra space and support – and comfort. Did I mention I sew standing up right now? A post for another day.

And once I get some of these things done, I will start cutting tumblers for my nephews. Hopefully those will go quickly!

I am ready to start seeing some progress!

Linking to…

6 responses to “Wip Wednesday

  1. Shannon says:

    I love the card tricks block and can’t wait to see your finished quilt. Thanks for sharing.

  2. wombatquilts says:

    Fabulous card tricks. Love the random black block. It adds a nice twist.

  3. Ashley says:

    I cannot decide which pinwheel is my favorite – but I think mine is the black too – I just love the way the fabrics pop. I’ve wanted to branch out on background colors, and now you’re convincing me to try it! I have to say that while the shop hoppin looked exhausting – I am so jealous you got to do it! hope you are well and having a great week 🙂

    • laurelar says:

      Thank you! You too. I love black backgrounds, but I have so many projects going with black backgrounds right now. They do make the colors pop so much more. I think next year either it’ll be easier to get to more places with an older baby so I can spread them out more over the days, or leave him with Nana. 😉 It was hard doing most of those in one day. But it was fun. I just wish I could have enjoyed each a little more rather than stressing about making it to all of them and whether or not to buy stuff. At least next year I will have a better idea of where I am going.

Leave a Reply

