Drowning in Fabric

Forever cleaning, organizing and creating

WIP Wednesday – 3×6 blocks

on February 27, 2013

DSC_0564

I’ve been working the past few days on one of my 3×6 bee groups. This is my pinwheel group. I have 7 in my group, including me. I have completed 3, but may pull them apart and resew them. They are slightly large (12.75 instead of 12.5) and a couple of the outer points do not have a 1/4 inch of background extending beyond them, so they will be clipped when sewn together. I haven’t quite worked out why that is happening, but I know that I was erring on the side of too large rather than too small. Maybe I need to aim for just right? I have three more cut and partially sewn together. If my sick baby had taken a nap today, they would be done.

I realized I only have another month to get these done, and I have a whole other group I haven’t thought about yet. I think I took on a little more than I maybe should have, doing two groups. I think I will just sign up for one again next quarter. The good thing is that these are going together rather quickly, if inexactly. The longest part has been picking out the fabrics. Once I settle on that, the rest goes quick with this pattern. The seventh participant designated rainbow as her color scheme, so I am saving that for last, trying to work out how to handle it. I am going to have to cut each triangle individually, I think, and that makes me nervous for accurate piecing. My machine doesn’t like triangle corners.

At the bottom, on my ironing board, you can sort of see my basketball fabric that I am about to cut for the ABC I Spy swap. I have three letters – B, T, and G. I am using these and the boy swap that just finished to make quilts for my nephew and soon-to-be nephew. I think I have til June to get those done.

Linking to

3 responses to “WIP Wednesday – 3×6 blocks

  1. Anita says:

    Looks like your off to a good start. I love your blog title…it made me smile. =)
    Visiting from WIP Wednesday. Have a great day.

  2. Ashley says:

    “Maybe I need to aim for just right.” Story of my life. You have me laughing. I love these blocks, especially the navy and light blue.

  3. Shannon says:

    Congrats on being a new Mommy and a new quilter. Becoming a mother is what got me quilting–during nap time too! I love it! Cute blog.

Leave a Reply

