Drowning in Fabric

Forever cleaning, organizing and creating

Reflections on a week gone by

on February 18, 2013

So, I made it. This morning I awoke giddy that my diet had come to an end. First, the reveal: I lost about 5.5 pounds. I saw a tens digit on the scale that I haven’t seen in years… since I flew by it in the great weight gain after I got married. I am centimeters from buttoning jeans two sizes lower than the ones I have been wearing, which are literally falling off me. I don’t own the size in between… seems I always skip over it as my weight goes up and down. However, I am not convinced it was worth it for what I went through this past week. I feel I deserve to have lost 15 or 20 pounds!

I was good. If anything, I consumed less than I was supposed to – which is my husband’s theory why I didn’t lose more, though he does point out I have lost more in a week than he has in a month. I only had two cheats. One was the small tortilla I mentioned in another post. The other shouldn’t even count – We had to get out of the house one morning and I didn’t have the time or means to make and take a smoothie with me. I knew I needed something to get me through. I grabbed an apple and ate that on the way – something I would never choose normally. I had at best a smoothie and a half each day, but more like one a day. They just weren’t that appetizing and took forever to drink. Even the ones I liked got old quick.

I learned I would rather not eat than eat things I don’t like. I hate raw veggies. While I was never starving hungry, there was a definite underlying hunger throughout. Something that would normally send me grazing through the kitchen looking for snacks. I was shockingly easily able to resist those urges – especially when the option that faced me was raw veggies. I learned I hate tahini. That stuff stinks. I will be passing it on, though my husband seemed to like it.

I confirmed I hate cooking. I only had one bad cooking day. Most things left me plenty of leftovers to last a couple of days, and I got my husband to make a couple things for me. I hate the mess. I hate it takes so long. I hate the dishes. Etc,etc,etc.

If I were to do it again, I would cut out the caffeine first. It was especially hard going through withdrawal and diet at the same time. I would have tested some of the smoothies and things before hand, so I knew what I was getting into and the quantities it makes. I would not have bought everything on the ingredient list all at once, rather picked a few recipes and bought for those, since they lasted me a few days each, and we have a lot left. The smoothie ingredients (that I liked) went fast, though.

I had hoped to keep going. I actually liked most of the soups, though now I can’t think of having them, I am sure I will again in the future. I hoped to keep up the smoothies. I am having an aversion to the blender right now. The smoothies just weren’t what smoothies should be. Does that make sense?

A few days ago, I was out of my mind, filling my menu for today with Thin Mints, Cadburries, Ice Cream and Cheese. It didn’t quite go that way… I didn’t even eat today until about 2:30. Then, nothing really tasted the same. I know that sounds weird. But everything tastes off. Nothing is as yummy as it used to be. And of course, I filled up quickly. It was disappointing. Of course, I didn’t go though all this to just gain it all back, but I thought I deserved some rewards. And there is this weird film on my teeth (from last week). No matter how much I brush it doesn’t go away. What is up with that?

I thought long about having my diet coke. I went through hell to get off it. It is the longest I can ever remember going without it. I had one at dinner, and still haven’t finished it. It tastes funny. Maybe that is what this diet is really about. Making everything you used to love be unappetizing. I also had chicken for dinner. There goes the veggie promise. Well, at least for now. I still hope I will switch over, but I had low willpower and was craving hard the real, tough food. And I didn’t have to make it. That’s what will get me in the most trouble. I don’t want to cook, and it really isn’t economical of time, money or mess for us to be making different meals every night. If it is any consolation, it tasted funny. So, basically, as much as I have been dreaming about eating certain things all week, nothing has tasted good. How disappointing. Tomorrow I plan to get back on track – eating a little more sensibly, but eating. Food. And I hope to keep it to one diet coke a day.

In the end, I am proud of myself. There was a time when I seriously didn’t think I would make it past the first day. It wasn’t hard, I wasn’t starving, just awful. But I did it. I said I would and I stuck through it – through vomiting and gastric discomfort and cravings and all. I just don’t think I see any juice fasts in my near future, unfortunately. Glad I didn’t spend the money on a juicer.

3 responses to “Reflections on a week gone by

  1. Somer says:

    I’ve been following this! So funny! So you’ve found out smoothies and veggies aren’t really for you. I have to admit it would be hard for someone who doesn’t enjoy vegetables very much, since that’s pretty much the premise of the plan. My smoothies certainly aren’t the same as Jamba Juice, many of the things on their menu have as many calories as a burger, fries and coke off a fast food menu, and more sugar than the coke!

    If you were to do it again, I would recommend less greens since you obviously didn’t tolerate them well. πŸ™‚ Another thing, it’s clear that you would be hungry since you weren’t consuming the amount of calories recommended on the plan. BOTH smoothies and all the veggies have heaps of fiber, which help to keep you full. So I guess you could swap those for more servings of soup next time? Great job on the weight loss though! Did you lose that without exercising? I love how you mentioned all your favorite things (treats) tasted funny after the challenge. Clean eating does reset your body. Artificial Flavorings, Colorings and more become more pronounced in things like diet coke, candies and treats after being off them for a while.

    Best wishes,

    Somer

    • laurelar says:

      Thanks for your reply and for following my journey on your diet! I lost about 6.5 pounds, and am still down about 4.5. And yes, pretty much no exercise. Things are tasting more normal now. I am eating normally, though still trying to keep to a reduced calorie diet. I still have a lot of weight to lose. I have kept my promise of one diet coke a day, which is a huge reduction in what I am used to. I am guzzling ice tea instead, though, which I am sure has caffeine in it as well, and splenda, so I am not sure how much of an improvement that is.

      I don’t not like veggies… I just don’t like raw veggies. A lot of it has to do with the texture. I don’t like the hard or crunch. I don’t eat nuts (at all) for the same reason. I love veggies when cooked or steamed – softer and they taste better too. But, I do know that takes a lot of nutrients out of them. I found I liked the smoothies a lot better with less kale or spinach in them (both of which I do eat and like) and liked the fruitier smoothies and stuck with those. Perhaps I could build up to more.

      I do want to move away from processed and artificial foods, but it is hard, and it is a process. Especially when I am not the only one in the home, and I am not the cook or shopper (though my husband does really well with dinners – I can’t fault him there). It is about making better choices…. There are things I won’t give up, but there are things I won’t allow my child to eat – so why do I allow myself to?

      I still have a lot of weight to lose, and I don’t lose easily. So I may actually try this again. Looking back, it was one of the longest weeks of my life, but I would be going in wiser this time and knowing what I was doing and getting myself into. I wouldn’t feel as obligated to stick to every letter, and make some changes. I’ve actually been thinking about some of those smoothies I liked and maybe I am ready to drink some again. πŸ˜‰

      • Somer says:

        Oh! Please, please, please feel free to steam your veggies then! You could season them with a squeeze of lemon, and a sprinkle of salt and pepper or a dash of soy sauce! That would really help with being hungry.

        As for the rest of the challenge, I would choose a few of the smoothies and soups that you like and just buy the ingredients for those. Make one smoothie in the morning and divide it into two pint jars. Drink one in the morning and then put the the other one in the fridge for later, then it wouldn’t feel so daunting and such a big deal to get through it. Then eat as much fruit as you like since you won’t be doing a second smoothie. Try to fit in a green salad if you can. If you didn’t like the dressings on the plan, I could recommend any of the Newman’s own lite dressings calorie wise.

        Changing eating does take time, which is why for many not used to eating cleanly, this plan comes as a bit of a shock to the system (i.e., your problems with, ahem, day 1 and 2) Take it easy on yourself! I would recommend if you need caffeine to do green tea, black tea or the iced tea that you are using. However, if you can tolerate the taste of stevia (I use the Truvia brand) I would use that instead of splenda, which is basically sugar combined with bleach particles. Blech. Removing chemicals from your diet alone should help with weight loss and help you to feel better.

        I’m here if you need advice! I’m super proud of you for sticking it out for the whole week, even if it was the longest week ever!

        Oh one more thing, the lentil soups on the challenge are FULL of fiber, which is probably why you had some bloating. Typically people who don’t consume that much fiber will experience bloat, but if you keep eating them, your body adjusts. Fiber is an excellent fat and cholesterol flusher πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

