Drowning in Fabric

Forever cleaning, organizing and creating

Day 1… didn’t go well

on February 12, 2013

**This is going to get gross toward the end. You’ve been warned

 

IMG_0488

So I started out with my smoothie. And by “started out” I mean it was probably about 1:30 when I finally got around to it. I don’t normally eat til the baby goes down for his nap, and that never causes me a problem normally. I made the spotted peach smoothie. At first, I wasn’t so sure about it. It didn’t taste horrible, but certainly wasn’t what you get at Smoothie King. I did finish it, though it took a couple of hours. That is a lot to drink… especially when it isn’t something you love. But in all honesty, I filled a jar with water and barely managed to finish that over many hours as well. It is just a lot! Oh, and that spout is sadly useless.

I took a picture of my packed fridge: We have a lot of stuff for this week. This is another problem I have with food. It goes bad. It doesn’t last long. And I know that all those preservatives are exactly what I want to get away from, but I hate the waste when stuff goes bad.

IMG_0490

 

 

 

IMG_0489

 

So for lunch (at about 3) I pulled out my food processor. That thing is heavy! And I wasn’t really sure how it all fit together. I was already starting to not feel great and was cranky and shaky. I almost cried over trying to put it together, but ultimately I must have figured it out because I got it to work.

 

 

IMG_0496

 

This is my lunch – Cauliflower Tubbleh and what I thought was lettuce, but I think was really cabbage. You can see my water and smoothie in the back. It wasn’t as good as I was hoping. I think I over did it on the garlic. Which usually I love garlic, but it really didn’t sit well.

Well, by this point the baby was ready for another nap, and I really wasn’t feeling well. I had a killer headache, I was shaky, cold, and just not feeling well. I took a hot shower and got in bed and slept for a couple of hours. I woke when I heard the baby. And I felt awful. Shaky, weak, cold, nauseated, I could barely lift the baby. I thought maybe I needed food and was weak from not eating so much, but honestly, I don’t eat much more than that normally, just not as healthily, and I wasn’t hungry. I felt sick. I just wanted to crawl back in bed. I sat and stared for a while while my husband made his dinner and the baby played on the floor. I finally decided I needed to get up and get some food in me, as much as I didn’t want to.

I didn’t get too far. I couldn’t stand long at the counter. I kept giving up and sitting back down. Then I started making trips to the bathroom. Lots of them. And it was gross. When my stomach still wasn’t settled, I ended up vomiting into the tub as I was on the toilet. Then I did some more. I have to be honest, that helped. I felt a little less sick after that. By this point, my husband was pretty worried, making my dinner for me, and telling me he thinks I need to back off of this. I did eat my dinner, a pretty good minestone quinoa soup, but I couldn’t even think of making another smoothie. Just the thought send me running to the bathroom. I drank water and ultimately did break down and have quite a few saltines to settle my stomach.

Now I don’t know what to do. Today I don’t feel quite as sick, but my headache is near unbearable. I did a lot of reading on juice fasts and know that this sort of reaction is common. But I wasn’t expecting it with this. It is not as strict, it isn’t like I’ve never had veggies before. I eat a lot of veggies. And, I mean, it hadn’t even been 24 hours. I was really shocked to have such a violent reaction. I am also in serious withdrawl from my only drug, and that isn’t helping any.

I don’t want to give up. I hate giving up. I am stubborn and stick through crazy things. I had reasons for doing this. I know that my body is reacting and that is the whole point, but boy it feels awful. And I have all that produce that I have to eat. So, I made my smoothie earlier this morning. But I am still not even halfway through it. It is really slow going. I think I will try a salad for lunch and see where things are by dinner. I have my minestrone leftover. I don’t want another night like last night. I didn’t get anything done yesterday. It was terrible.

I also get creeped out by coincidences… I had both of these articles in my email this morning:

http://www.sparkpeople.com/resource/nutrition_articles.asp?id=1800

http://www.glueandglitter.com/main/2013/02/12/what-to-do-for-lent/

Here’s hoping today goes better. I need to finish this smoothie soon though…. I am not sure I can get through two a day. I don’t know how I ever thought I was going to do a juice fast.

3 responses to “Day 1… didn’t go well

  1. Becky says:

    Aw, I’m sorry to hear that your smoothie didn’t go well! Chances are most green smoothies aren’t going to taste like Smoothie King. They use a lot of added sugar, from what I can tell. It looks like their fruit is not just frozen fruit but often frozen in syrup.

    I know a setback like a recipe-gone-wrong can suck – especially when the ingredients aren’t cheap! – but I hope you’ll give other recipes a try. There are lots of ways to do the green smoothie thing, so experimenting until you find ratios that you like is the best way to do it!

    From your photo, it looks like you used a ton of greens! You might want to start out more slowly – 1 leaf of kale (ribs removed) or a small handful of parsley or spinach – and add more greens as you palate adjusts. Part of the green smoothie thing, at least for me, was re-training my taste buds. Most of the commercial drinks out there are overly sweetened with added sugars etc, and it takes a while to break your body of that expectation, you know what I mean?

    • laurelar says:

      Thank you for your reply! I didn’t realize my blog links back to yours when I post. O_o I was just so weirded out when I saw your blog post in my feed this morning. Seems like green smoothies are everywhere now. I was following the recipes on vegedout.com. I knew it wasn’t going to be as sweet, but it certainly takes getting used to. I certainly enjoy fruit juice more than veggie juice too… I will try backing off the veggies. It was 2 or 3 cups of kale and spinach 🙂 For now, I am soldering on through the diet. I only got through half my morning smoothie, and had my minestrone for lunch which was yummy. So far I feel ok, other than headachy and a little hungry. About to go grab a veggie snack. I’ll try another smoothie this evening.

      Thanks for taking the time to give such a nice reply!

Leave a Reply

