Drowning in Fabric

Forever cleaning, organizing and creating

WIP Wednesday: Ribbon quilt (Still)

on February 6, 2013

Here is my progress at this point on my chevron ribbon quilt:

ribbon

I had hoped to be further along, but we’ve had a rough few days, complete with a trip to the ER, and I have been choosing to nap during naptime rather then sew. Those rows aren’t joined yet; and they aren’t in the order they will be in the quilt; they are in the order I made them. One row is just about done, will probably be done tonight and the last you can see there on the ironing board. I have to remake a couple of the squares in that row. They came out short somehow. The ribbons will also run horizontally when done, but this is how I have slapped them on my board for whatever reason, for the time being. Actually, I am scheduling this post ahead of time, so I really really hope by the time it really is Wednesday this much of the top will be put together. I ran through a full yard of white to make this – you wouldn’t think so! It doesn’t look like that much! – So I will need to get more as I contemplate how to handle any borders. I am also running through 2.5 inch squares faster than I can cut them. They really aren’t kidding when they say you can make a pile of them while simply putting together other projects. I am also really stingy about what fabric scraps I am willing to cut into 2.5 inch squares, so I am having a problem keeping myself in squares. Anything bigger than like 3×5 I want to keep whole in case I can use them in other projects. I need to sit down and plot out my rainbow charms so that I can be putting those together instead, which was the original plan.

I have also done some cleaning and decluttering this weekend, as planned, which has kept me away from my sewing. We spent some time in the garage. Not as much as I had intended, but there is a definite dent. The hubs ran out a ton of cardboard to the recycling center, and that is usually where we stall out, but I really did go through and empty out/organize an entire corner and throw away a bunch of trash. It’s a small start, and there’s still piles to be organized and boxes to go through, but it is a definite cleared out, able to walk there and get to the wall shelving area. I have also done some damage to the office. The floor is almost completely clear, just a few old printers and things in the corner. My desk is clear and organized. The bookshelves are getting there. I moved a lot of non-sewing books out of my sewing room bookcases (So I can use that space for fabric storage) and into the office. And I have a nice large pile of cardboard from the office all ready to head to the garage. LOL. I don’t want it to sound like we are hoarders – with the exception of these two rooms and the basement (which is my husband’s domain) we just have the normal family-with-a-small-child clutter. The office simply became a dumping ground the last few months for any packages and other emergency clean up for holiday company. It’s only taken a couple hours in there, and I am about ready to call it as clean as it is gonna get. The garage…. well…. yeah…. that looks like an episode of Hoarders. 😉  And my sewing area can from time to time too, but it is really looking a lot better since I have been reorganizing it.

linking to…

5 responses to “WIP Wednesday: Ribbon quilt (Still)

  1. Ashley says:

    I love, love, love your ribbon quilt. This is making me want to start a new quilt! I can’t wait to see the finished quilt top 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

    • laurelar says:

      Thank you! I finished the top (sans border) tonight and will have pics up soon. Just gotta think how I want to border it and I am out of white! So can’t do it right now, anyway. 😀

  2. I think the patterns the fabrics are making in the quilt are so interesting. Were they planned, or are they just something that happens with this design? I like it a lot.

    • laurelar says:

      Mostly it is just how it turned out. It is a series of HST that keep getting turned and halved again. I tried to match up designs as much as possible, but for the most part it was near impossible in how things are turned and connected.

  3. Michele says:

    I do like the colors in that quilt. And good for you for getting rid of some clutter. That always feels good.

Leave a Reply

