Drowning in Fabric

Forever cleaning, organizing and creating

I had to go back

on February 6, 2013

So I got out for a minute today to pick up some snacks to take to bunco tonight and mail a package. I stopped back to look at the sewing machine at the thrift shop again. And take some photos. And convince myself I do not need to buy it, even if it is only $5.

IMG_0482

I talked to the guy a bit and gave him some information.

IMG_0478IMG_0479

Ugh. So tempting. But my research seems to indicate it will cost a lot more money and trouble to have it refurbished than to buy one in working condition.

IMG_0481IMG_0483

He is thinking about putting it on Ebay for parts. He was shocked to learn how much interest there is online for these in good condition. I told him I was shocked to walk in and see it just sitting there. He has had it for ten years.

IMG_0485IMG_0484

Is it worth it? Is there any point in trying to find someone to restore it? Or should I just save my pennies and be glad I did a good turn letting this guy know what he had? I just know if I get it it will sit in my garage forever and I would hate that. This poor thing has already lived in an abandoned storage locker and with a dealer for ten years. It needs someone who knows how to revive it and will do it.

IMG_0480

3 responses to “I had to go back

  1. That’s a shame it is in such bad shape. Do you know what year it is? Singer has a site where you can put in the serial number to find out when it was born. I have a 1950 featherweight and paid $500…pristine condition with original storage box and accessories. It sews like it was new. This is the site I bought mine from: http://www.cathylynnforcino.com/sewing%20machines.html
    She does a good job in refurbishing them.

    • laurelar says:

      I know. I am so sad. I wish it was in any kind of decent shape, but it is all rusted out and missing vital parts. I just truly in my heart believe it’ll cost a fortune to repair and will live in my garage and I am just as well off scouring for one elsewhere. It is just one of those things you never expect to see, and then when you do, it is really hard to pass up. I really don’t know too much about them; I’ve only recently become interested and started watching for them. I have seen some on ebay in good shape for 2-300 and craigslist for 4-500. I just can’t really spend right now. I hope someone does rescue it, though. Thanks for sharing the info!

  2. Michele says:

    I agree with you Laurel that it would probably cost a lot to get it in good shape. If you really want one I’m sure you will find one in much better condition. Keep looking. There are listings all the time on Ebay and Craigslist.

Leave a Reply

